My Jury Service + Infidel753 Works for Justice and Freedom to Choose

da-AL
7 min readJul 16, 2021

Photo of Spring Stree Courthouse, Los Angeles, California, By Los Angeles — Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=4070759[/caption]

Consider me two weeks behind in everything, including the story I’ll begin with below. I’ve just finished jury duty, so in terms of everything from blogging and novel writing to general life stuff plus venturing into a podcast version of this puppy (learning how to go beyond slapping any old thing together, trying to ensure people might actually listen to it).

Thank you Infidel753 for generously guest posting here today! Before we get to him, indulge me in rambling some on my recent civic experience, starting with part 1 of it in this post.

Jury duty. Duty. Justice.

Justice, doing one’s duty can be inconvenient. Same with voting, giving blood, and such. How far we’ll work for the greater good is no body else’s business. I only hope we’re all thoughtful and kind about our choices, soul-searchingly aware that our only hope is if we know we’re all in this together. Each of us is a potential everyday hero for each other breathing the same air, if you get what I mean.

Friday before last, I started my service. Is jury duty the same all over the United States? All I know…

--

--